Art year plan

Updated: 17/11/2023 98 KB
Updated: 17/11/2023 34 KB


What qualification will I get?

GCSE Art and Design (Fine Art, Art Textiles)


How will I be assessed?

Pupils in Year 7 to 8 follow the Art National Curriculum.  At the end of Year 8 pupils can take an option choice and follow the AQA GCSE Art and design course.  This effectively gives them 3 years to complete the course.  This course will then continue into Year 10 and Year 11.


What can this course lead to?

The Art GCSE qualification enables pupils to progress onto any arts based course in higher education.

Any career/vocation that has a creative side will all expect some form of arts qualification. Here are a few examples:

  • Animator
  • Ceramics designer
  • Community arts worker
  • Exhibition designer
  • Fashion designer
  • Fine artist
  • Furniture conservator/restorer
  • Furniture designer
  • Glass blower/designer
  • Graphic designer
  • Illustrator
  • Industrial/product designer
  • Interior and spatial designer
  • Jewellery designer
  • Make-up artist
  • Medical illustrator
  • Museum/gallery conservator
  • Photographer
  • Press photographer
  • Printmaker
  • Production designer, theatre/television/film
  • Textile designer
  • Web designer

These are just a few. Why not check these websites out for more information on careers in the arts.